Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you will not see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Professor Maria Fitzgerald FMedSci, FRS gives the third, annual Mabel FitzGerald lecture.

On the afternoon of 14th February 2017, staff and students gathered to hear Professor Maria Fitzgerald FMedSci, FRS give the third annual Mabel FitzGerald lecture entitled “Pain and the Developing Brain”.

The lecture series is held each year in honour of Mabel Fitzgerald (1872-1973), a notable physiologist whose great scientific accomplishment was to demonstrate, over the long term, that it is oxygen, and not carbon dioxide, that determines how hard we breathe and sets the haemoglobin concentration in our blood.

The lecture was followed by a drinks reception in the Sherrington Library, during which members of the Department had the chance to meet Professor Fitzgerald.


Professor David Paterson presenting Professor Maria Fitzgerald FMedSci, FRS with a certificate of appreciation.

Mabel Fitzgerald

Professor David Paterson and Professor Maria Fitzgerald FMedSci, FRS

MF Montage

Staff and students at the drinks reception following the lecture.

Many thanks to Professor Zoltan Molnar and Dr Mary Mcmenamin for their photos.

Similar stories

MRC Senior Non-Clinical Fellowship awarded to Samira Lakhal-Littleton

Awards and Honours Cardiac Theme EDI News Lakhal-Littleton Group News

Congratulations are in order for Associate Professor Samira Lakhal-Littleton, who has been awarded a Senior Non-Clinical Fellowship by the Medical Research Council to further her lab's work exploring the implications of the cardiac hepcidin/ferroportin axis for the management of iron deficiency in heart failure.

100 Years of Oxford Degrees for Women

EDI News Students

Meet four of DPAG's female graduate students as the department joins celebrations for the Centenary of women making history at Oxford.

Professor Dame Frances Ashcroft receives Society for Endocrinology's highest accolade

Awards and Honours EDI News

Professor Dame Frances Ashcroft has been presented with the 2020 Dale Medal from the leading institution known as the UK home of endocrinology.

Lukas Krone honoured by the World Sleep Society

Awards and Honours EDI News Students Vyazovskiy Group News

Congratulations are in order for Lukas Krone, who has been presented the 2020 Christian Guilleminault Young Investigator Award by the World Sleep Society.

Renewal of Athena SWAN Silver award for DPAG

EDI News Head of Department's News

Head of Department Professor David Paterson announces the renewal of DPAG's Athena SWAN Silver award for the department's commitment to an inclusive and diverse working environment and the progression of the careers of women in science.