Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

"A Year of Progress" was held in the Sherrington Library on Wednesday 9 November 2022.

Abstracts of posters were presented by DPAG Graduate Students at the start of their Second Year of DPhil Research Study. An academic panel of judges spent the morning viewing each poster to determine the prize winners. 

This year two winners have been announced. Juliana Tsz Yan Choi, supervised by Professor Scott Waddell and Dr Pedro Jacob, presented "The role of octopamine in Drosophila melanogaster learning and memory". Aksel Saukko-Paavola, supervised by Associate Professors Robin Klemm and Samira Lakhal-Littleton, presented "VAPB is a negative regulator of mitoguardin-2 Lipid Droplet tethering". 

Second Year Poster Day 2022 winners: Juliana Choi and Aksel Saukko-Paavola

Left: Juliana Tsz Yan Choi. Right: Aksel Saukko-Paavola

Two runners-up were announced this year. Ríona Devereux, supervised by Associate Professor Lisa Heather, Professor Angela Russell, and Dr Josie Gaynord, presented "Chemical tools to understand fatty acid uptake, trafficking, metabolism and signalling in type 2 diabetes". Jessica Livesey, supervised by Professor Stephanie Cragg, Dr Jeffrey Stedehouder, and Dr Mark Walton, presented "Investigating the regulation of striatal dopamine release by striatal noradrenaline at adrenoreceptors".

Second Year Poster Day 2022 runners-up: Riona Devereux and Jessica Livesey

Left: Ríona Devereux. Right: Jessica Livesey

The graduate studies committee would like to congratulate all students who presented this week; the standard of all the posters was high making it a very close competition.

Download a copy of the Poster Day 2022 Abstracts Booklet.

Similar stories

Professor Dame Frances Ashcroft to receive Vanderbilt Prize in Biomedical Science

The Vanderbilt Prize in Biomedical Science recognises women scientists with a stellar record of research accomplishments who also have made significant contributions to mentoring other women in science.

Annie Park to advance our understanding of how the brain encodes reward with new Wellcome Trust Award

Congratulations are in order for Postdoctoral Fellow Dr Annie Park who has been awarded a prestigious Wellcome Early-Career Award.

Physiological Society award to support prestigious CAJAL course for Raffaele Sarnataro

Congratulations are in order for Dr Raffaele Sarnataro who has been awarded a Professional Development Award by The Physiological Society. The award will support Dr Sarnataro’s selected participation on the Experimental Neuroscience Bootcamp 2023 delivered by the CAJAL Advanced Neuroscience Training Programme.

Armin Lak appointed Associate Professor of Integrative Neuroscience

The post is in association with a Tutorial Fellowship at St John's College.

Inaugural Fellowship to Charmaine Lang paves the way to improved human models for Parkinson's drug discovery

Congratulations are in order for Departmental Research Lecturer Dr Charmaine Lang who has been awarded the first jointly funded Senior Research Fellowship from Parkinson’s UK and Rosetrees Trust. With this award, Dr Lang will develop complex new induced pluripotent stem cell (iPSC) models that target the interaction between dopamine neurons and astrocytes in the brain and how these fail in the context of Parkinson's.