Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Congratulations are in order for Associate Professor Ana Domingos, who has been awarded the 2023 Carl Ludwig Distinguished Lectureship from the American Physiological Society.

Head of Department David Paterson attends the American Physiological Society NCAR with the announcement of Ana Domingos being awarded the lectureship on screen behind him.

The Carl Ludwig Lectureship Award honours a world-renowned, distinguished investigator who has made major contributions toward a better understanding of some aspect of autonomic regulation in normal and/or disease states. It is the most prestigious award offered by the Neural Control and Autonomic Regulation (NCAR) section of the American Physiological Society (APS). The recipient is chosen by the NCAR section steering committee as a representative of the best within this discipline who is actively involved in innovative and productive research.

The Carl Ludwig Award is one of 12 APS distinguished lectureship awards named after outstanding contributors to different areas of physiology as represented by the 12 APS sections. This award honours the achievements of Carl Ludwig, a prominent professor of physiology in the mid and late 1800s.

On 5 April 2022, the 2023 Carl Ludwig Lectureship Award was given to Associate Professor Ana Domingos at the Experimental Biology meeting held in Philadelphia, USA.

On receipt of the Award, Prof Domingos said: "It is a great honour to be awarded the Carl Ludwig distinguished Lectureship by the APS. This means that my laboratory has made significant advancement in the field of neural control and autonomic regulation. 

"I’m proud my laboratory demonstrated that sympathetic nerves resident in white fat are the efferent arm on the neuroendocrine loop of leptin action in the brain (published in Cell, 2015, Nature Communications, 2017). We then discovered Sympathetic neuron-Associated Macrophages (SAMs) that directly import and metabolize NE. Abrogation of SAM function promotes long-term amelioration of obesity independently of food intake (Nature Medicine, 2017). These findings inspired the development of a new class of anti-obesity compounds named sympathofacilitators, which do not enter the brain, nor have the typical cardiovascular side effects of centrally acting sympathomimetic drugs (Cell Metabolism, 2020). Sympathofacilitator drugs act as an energy sink by coupling thermogenesis to active heat dissipation."

The 2018 Lectureship was awarded to Head of Department Professor David Paterson, who was in attendance at the Award announcement ceremony.

Professor Paterson said: "I am delighted that Ana has won this very prestigious award lecture from APS, which is the top award in the USA in autonomic neuroscience."

Similar stories

Mootaz Salman set to target new treatments for stroke

The Chief Scientist Office of the Government of Scotland has awarded a collaborative grant of £298,966 to Dr Mootaz Salman to seek new therapeutic avenues to treat stroke.

Gero Miesenböck awarded 2023 Japan Prize

Congratulations are in order for Professor Gero Miesenböck, who has been awarded the 2023 Japan Prize in the field of Life Sciences, together with Professor Karl Deisseroth, for pioneering work in the field of optogenetics.

Mootaz Salman receives prestigious science award from Iraq

Congratulations are in order for Dr Mootaz Salman, who has received the National Medal of Distinctive Scientific Achievement by the Government of Iraq.

Professor Denis Noble awarded the Lomonosov Gold Medal

The Russian Academy of Sciences has awarded its highest accolade, the Lomonosov Gold Medal, to Emeritus Professor Denis Noble CBE, FRS.

Professor Dame Frances Ashcroft awarded the Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research

The 2022 Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research recognises original and excellent achievements in diabetes research. Professor Ashcroft is the first women to win in the 15 years this prestigious Prize has been awarded.