Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Congratulations are in order to Professor Zoltán Molnár on being elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology.

Zoltan MolnarProfessor of Developmental Neuroscience Zoltán Molnár has been made a Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology (FRSB). The Fellowship is an accolade awarded to scientists who have made a distinctive and notable contribution to the advancement of the biological sciences.

Professor Molnár, whose research focus is on the cerebral cortical development, recently co-published a pioneering book that expands the horizons of brain research. "Body, Brain, Behavior: Three Views and a Conversation", published with Dr Tamas Horvath and Dr Joy Hirsch, sheds new light on the inner workings of the nervous system in a way no major publication has attempted to do before in the field of neuroscience. Among his many contributions, earlier this year he identified a new mechanism that, triggered by early sensory loss during development, substantially rewires corticothalamic connections, thus revealing a potential therapeutic target for patients with sensory loss.

On receipt of his Fellowship, Professor Molnár would like to thank all his colleagues from both DPAG and St John's College for their "constant encouragement and support."

The Royal Society of Biology's mission is to be the single unified voice for biology. The Society advises the Government and influences policy, advances education and professional development, and is dedicated to engaging and encouraging public interest in the life sciences. 

Similar stories

Marcos Castro Guarda is an IMPRES 2022 prize winner

Congratulations are in order for DPhil student Marcos Castro Guarda, who has been awarded best oral presenter at the 1st International Symposium of Pharmacy Research.

Irene Tracey appointed Honorary Fellow of The Physiological Society

Congratulations are in order for Professor Irene Tracey CBE FMedSci, who has received the highest honour presented by The Physiological Society to an individual.

Strong performance for DPAG cardiac research at the Oxford BHF CRE Annual Symposium

Congratulations are in order for Kaitlyn Dennis, Dr Ni Li and Dr KC Park on their awards at this year's major showcase for Oxford's British Heart Foundation funded researchers.

Jaideep Pandit honoured with RCoA Gold Medal

Congratulations are in order for Professor Jaideep Pandit, Professor of Anaesthesia and consultant anaesthetist, who has received the rarely awarded prestigious Gold Medal of the Royal College of Anaesthetists. Professor Pandit was a student and research fellow at DPAG and is now an Academic Visitor in the department; he is also a Fellow and Tutor in Medicine at St John's College.

Louisa Zolkiewski awarded the Bruce Cattanach Prize 2022

Congratulations are in order for Louisa Zolkiewski, who completed her DPhil studies this year, on being awarded the 2022 Bruce Cattanach Prize by the Genetics Society for her DPhil thesis.