Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you will not see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The 2022 Sherrington talks were presented by graduate students in their third year of DPhil research study.

Some of the Sherrington Talks speakers - from left to right: Dr Preman Singh, Dr Elise Meijer, Sian Wilcox, David Oliver, Zaki Alsahafi, Gosia Cyranka, Matthew Lloyd, Wiktoria Blaszczak, Chloe Tubman , Dr Ni Li and Asma Alamoudi.

The 2022 Sherrington Talks took place on Friday 10 and Thursday 16 June, presented by third year DPAG DPhil Students. The Talks were held in person this year for the first time since the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Four prize winners were selected by a judging panel comprised of members of the Graduate Studies Committee, chaired by the Director of Graduate Studies Professor Vladyslav Vyazovskiy. Prizes of Blackwell’s gift tokens have been awarded; £50 to each of the two winners and £25 to each of the two runners-up.

The standard was extraordinarily high this year with only half points separating the top two from the rest of the field.

Congratulations to the four prize winners:

Winners - David Oliver and Dr Ni Li

David Oliver is supervised by Dr Adam Packer and Associate Professor Simon Butt, and funded by Clarendon. He gave a presentation on Friday 10 June entitled: "Sensory response properties of the mouse claustrum".

Dr Ni Li is supervised by Professor David Paterson and Dr Dan Li, and funded by the China Scholarship Council (CSC). She gave a presentation on Thursday 16 June entitled "Human iPSC derived cardiac myocytes and sympathetic neurons in disease modelling".

David Oliver and Ni Li Sherrington Talks Winners

David Oliver (left) and Ni Li (right)

Runners-up - Sian Wilcox and Chloe Tubman

Sian Wilcox is supervised by Professor Vladyslav Vyazovskiy, Professor Stuart Peirson, and Professor David Bannerman, and funded by NC3Rs. She gave a presentation on Friday 10 June entitled: "Fasting-induced torpor in mice: implications for neuroscience research and the 3Rs".

Chloe Tubman is supervised by Professor Paul Riley, Professor Tatjana Sauka-Spengler, and Dr Filipa Simões, and funded by the Wellcome Trust on the Doctoral Training Centre programme. She gave a presentation on Thursday 16 June entitled "The role of Wilms’ tumour 1b in the regenerating zebrafish myocardium".

 Sian Wilcox and Chloe Tubman Sherrington Talks Runners-up

Sian Wilcox (left) and Chloe Tubman (right)

The programme for Friday 10 and Thursday 16 June is available to download here.

Similar stories

Neil Herring to give prestigious Bayliss-Starling Prize Lecture

The annual Prize Lecture from The Physiological Society will provide an opportunity to highlight the importance of the Herring lab's work into the nervous system’s critical role in cardiovascular health and disease.

Fellowship awarded to Mootaz Salman could pave the way for early intervention in Parkinson’s

Congratulations are in order for Departmental Research Lecturer Dr Mootaz Salman who has been awarded a prestigious Early Career Fellowship funded by the Leverhulme Trust.

BHF Senior Fellowship renewal for Duncan Sparrow could pave the way to revealing unknown causes of heart defects in babies

Congratulations are in order for Associate Professor Duncan Sparrow, who has been awarded a renewal of his British Heart Foundation Senior Basic Science Research Fellowship. The award will fund crucial investigations into little understood environmental risk factors of congenital heart disease, and could one day lead to new therapeutic strategies.

Peregrine Green honoured by British Cardiovascular Society

Congratulations are in order for Dr Peregrine Green, who was won a prestigious abstract award at the BCS Annual Conference.

Collaborative team driven by DPAG and Chemistry awarded RSC Horizon Prize

The Molecular Flow Sensor Team, with collaborating members principally from DPAG’s Robbins and Talbot groups and the Department of Chemistry, has been named the winner of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s (RSC) Analytical Division Horizon Prize for the development of a new technology for measuring lung function.