Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The Chief Scientist Office of the Government of Scotland has awarded a collaborative grant of £298,966 to Dr Mootaz Salman to seek new therapeutic avenues to treat stroke.

Mootaz Salman profileDPAG Leverhulme Trust Fellow Dr Mootaz Salman will collaborate with principal investigator Dr Lorraine Work from the University of Glasgow, together with Professor Roslyn Bill and Dr Stuart Greenhill from Aston University. Over a two-year project, the research team will establish whether the combined targeting of oedema (brain swelling) and neuronal plasticity (the capacity of the nervous system to modify itself) can be used as a new therapeutic framework to treat stroke.

This new research objective will expand the translation of a drug candidate that has been described in their groundbreaking research published in the journal Cell in 2020 and a follow-up paper in BBA-Biomembranes in 2021, where Dr Mootaz Salman was both the co-first and corresponding author. In their 2021 paper, the team demonstrated compelling evidence that the drug - the FDA-approved antipsychotic medication known as trifluoperazine (TFP) - has the potential to stop the swelling in the brain that occurs after a stroke or other cerebral injury.

Read more about their 2020 research on the Harvard Medical School website: 'Brain Protection: Drug that reduces swelling may help protect against brain and spinal cord injury'.

Read more about their 2021 findings on the DPAG website: 'The future of stroke treatment'.


Similar stories

Gero Miesenböck awarded 2023 Japan Prize

Congratulations are in order for Professor Gero Miesenböck, who has been awarded the 2023 Japan Prize in the field of Life Sciences, together with Professor Karl Deisseroth, for pioneering work in the field of optogenetics.

Mootaz Salman receives prestigious science award from Iraq

Congratulations are in order for Dr Mootaz Salman, who has received the National Medal of Distinctive Scientific Achievement by the Government of Iraq.

Professor Denis Noble awarded the Lomonosov Gold Medal

The Russian Academy of Sciences has awarded its highest accolade, the Lomonosov Gold Medal, to Emeritus Professor Denis Noble CBE, FRS.

Professor Dame Frances Ashcroft awarded the Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research

The 2022 Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research recognises original and excellent achievements in diabetes research. Professor Ashcroft is the first women to win in the 15 years this prestigious Prize has been awarded.

Inaugural winners of the DPAG Prize for Public Engagement with Research announced

Congratulations are in order for the winners Katherine Brimblecombe and Anna Kordala, and also to Jéssica Luiz and Andia Redpath who were highly commended for their outreach and public engagement work.