Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Congratulations are in order for Dr Mootaz Salman, who has received the prestigious Young Scientist Lectureship Award by the International Society of Neurochemistry (ISN) in recognition for his eminent research achievements in cellular neuroscience.

Young Scientist Lectureship Award Poster - title 'Defining mechanisms of blood-brain barrier dysfunction in dementia using advanced organ-on-a-chip models' - to be given by Mootaz Salman UK - #ISNAPSN2022, Honolulu, Hawaii, USA, August 28 - September 1, 2022. ISN International Society for Neurochemistry. Asian-Pacific Society for Neurochemistry.

Every two years, ISN identifies the two most promising young scientists they consider to have contributed the most significant research among its members across cellular and molecular neuroscience. Dr Mootaz Salman is the recipient of this year's International Society of Neurochemistry (ISN) and Asian-Pacific Society for Neurochemistry (APSN) Young Scientist Lectureship Award in the category of cellular neuroscience.

Dr Salman will deliver a lecture entitled “Defining mechanisms of blood-brain barrier dysfunction in dementia using advanced organ-on-a-chip models” at the ISN-APSN Biennial Meeting in Honolulu, Hawaii, USA at the end of August 2022.

On receipt of his award, Dr Salman said: “I am delighted to have received this prestigious international award, especially as, up to my knowledge, no one from the UK has been among previous recipients. It perhaps acknowledges some of the strengths of British Neuroscience, particularly at the University of Oxford and the Department pf Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics (DPAG) in the domains of physiology and cellular neuroscience, which I am proud to represent.

“Neuroscience research and working to identify new treatments for neurodegenerative diseases using innovative and cutting-edge technologies have been a passion of mine throughout my career. This success would not have been possible without my support network, encouraging mentors, friendly colleagues, and generous funding agencies, in particular the Leverhulme Trust and John Fell Fund. Thank you for having confidence in my abilities.

“I am grateful for all the wonderful professors who inspired me and led by example in my early years, as well as all the amazing colleagues, and others who I have been privileged to teach, collaborate with, and hopefully inspire.

“I'm honoured to present my work at the ISN-APSN Biennial Meeting this year. This is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to share my research work with the world."

Earlier this academic year, Dr Salman was awarded a Leverhulme Trust Early Career Fellowship to undertake a significant piece of publishable work as an independent researcher, and conferred the title of Departmental Research Lecturer in DPAG in recognition of his contribution to his research group and the teaching and research mission of the Department.

Similar stories

Wade-Martins Group attain Silver Sustainability Award

The Wade-Martins Group has achieved a Laboratory Efficiency Assessment Framework (LEAF) Silver award in recognition of its sustainable practices.

Randy Bruno and Scott Waddell receive Wellcome Discovery Awards

Congratulations are in order for Professors Randy Bruno and Scott Waddell who have each been awarded a prestigious Wellcome Trust Discovery Award to significantly enhance our understanding of higher cognitive functions.

DPhil student wins senior College scholarship for research excellence

Congratulations are in order for Judy Sayers, DPhil student in the Riley Group, who has been awarded the University College senior G A Paul Scholarship for research excellence.

Celebrating DPAG Heroines

On Friday 1 July 2022, the Department gathered to hear from Professor Dame Frances Ashcroft FRS about the pioneering women physiologists and anatomists throughout Oxford's history, followed by talks from Associate Professors Samira Lakhal-Littleton and Nicola Smart, and the unveiling of The Physiological Society's blue plaque commemorating one of DPAG's earliest pioneering women, Florence Buchanan.

Anant Parekh to deliver The Physiological Society's Annual Review Prize Lecture

The Annual Review Prize Lecture is The Physiological Society's most prestigious lecture.