Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you will not see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Research groups

Matthew Ellis

Postgraduate DPhil Student

I graduated from King’s College London with a BSc (Hons) in Biochemistry in 2015. Here I became interested in cancer during my undergraduate project investigating the role of the highly conserved ABCE1/hYAE1/ORAOV1 complex in Saccharomyces cerevisiae, which is reported to be upregulated in certain human cancers.

Following my undergraduate studies I was awarded a scholarship to undertake an MRes in Cancer Biology at Imperial College London working in the Gene Targeting laboratory of Dr Andrew Porter. I investigated the use of CRISPR/Cas9 technology to specifically target and inactivate the BCR-ABL1 oncogene in chronic myeloid leukaemia (CML), through manipulation of DNA repair pathways. I also worked in the Apoptosis and Proliferation Control laboratory at the Francis Crick Institute with Dr Nic Tapon studying the role of post-translational modifications in the regulation of Hippo pathway components using Drosophila melanogaster. For this work, I was awarded the Imperial College Faculty of Medicine Dean’s Prize in Cancer Biology.

I spent my subsequent year as a research assistant in the Marciniak laboratory at the Cambridge Institute of Medical Research at the University of Cambridge investigating surfactant protein C (SFTPC) localisation and the role of the integrated stress response in development using Drosophila melanogaster.

In the Goberdhan laboratory I am examining the mTORC1 cellular stress sensing pathway, aiming to uncover the mechanisms that cancer cells use to hijack this pathway and ultimately modify the type of exosomes that they produce. These switched exosomes contain altered cargoes, which appear to promote oncogenesis. My DPhil is funded by the Medical Research Council and a scholarship from Exeter College, Oxford.