Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Congratulations are in order for Professor Irene Tracey CBE FMedSci, who has received the highest honour presented by The Physiological Society to an individual.

The Physiological Society’s Board of Trustees recently announced the appointment of six new Honorary Fellows. The Society's highest individual honour recognises persons of distinction in science who have contributed to the advancement of physiology. 

Professor Irene Tracey's research has both contributed to our understanding of pain perception and pain relief within the human central nervous system, and the neural basis of anaesthesia induced altered states of consciousness. Within the physiological domain of her work, the Tracey Lab has proved that anti- and pro-nociceptive mechanisms within the descending pain modulatory system (a network involving cortical, sub-cortical and brainstem regions) are key in the context of pain reduction during placebo analgesia and distraction and pain amplification during central sensitisation after injury, respectively.

Presently an Honorary Professor at DPAG, Professor Tracey first joined the Department in 2001 in her first tenured position as University Lecturer in association with a Tutorial Fellowship at Christ Church College. Then based in the Le Gros Clark building, she was part of the team responsible for developing and modernising the neuroscience offering in the undergraduate medical curriculum, which had just expanded from 100 to 150 students. Following her appointments of Professor of Pain Research and Director of Oxford Centre for Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging of the Brain (FMRIB, now the Wellcome Centre for Integrative Neuroimaging (WIN)) in 2005, she remained in the Department for a further two years as a Senior Professor, before leaving in late 2006 to take on the Nuffield Chair of Anaesthetic Science alongside her Directorship of FMRIB. 

As of 2021, Professor Tracey holds the positions of Pro-Vice-Chancellor (without portfolio), Professor of Anaesthetic Neuroscience and Warden of Merton College. In 2023, Professor Tracey will become the next Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oxford.

Professor Tracey was presented with her Honorary Fellowship by Head of DPAG and President of The Physiological Society Professor David Paterson at the 2022 Member Forum, held at The Royal Society on 2 December 2022.



Similar stories

Mootaz Salman set to target new treatments for stroke

The Chief Scientist Office of the Government of Scotland has awarded a collaborative grant of £298,966 to Dr Mootaz Salman to seek new therapeutic avenues to treat stroke.

Gero Miesenböck awarded 2023 Japan Prize

Congratulations are in order for Professor Gero Miesenböck, who has been awarded the 2023 Japan Prize in the field of Life Sciences, together with Professor Karl Deisseroth, for pioneering work in the field of optogenetics.

Mootaz Salman receives prestigious science award from Iraq

Congratulations are in order for Dr Mootaz Salman, who has received the National Medal of Distinctive Scientific Achievement by the Government of Iraq.

Professor Denis Noble awarded the Lomonosov Gold Medal

The Russian Academy of Sciences has awarded its highest accolade, the Lomonosov Gold Medal, to Emeritus Professor Denis Noble CBE, FRS.

Professor Dame Frances Ashcroft awarded the Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research

The 2022 Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research recognises original and excellent achievements in diabetes research. Professor Ashcroft is the first women to win in the 15 years this prestigious Prize has been awarded.